The Oklahoma Trucking Association is excited to work closely with the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety on the CDL Third-Party Examiner Pilot Program.
During this pilot program, only ten (10) businesses will be selected. Each business engaged in Interstate or Intrastate commerce licensed in this state with an employee applying to be an instructor or third-party tester shall be required to pay an initial fee of Five thousand Dollars ($5,000.00) and an annual renewal fee of Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00). The initial fee for each instructor or third-party tester shall be Two Thousand Five Hundred Dollars ($2,500.00) and an annual renewal fee of Two Thousand Five Hundred Dollars ($2,500.00).
DPS will be accepting applications from businesses interested in participating in the program. Once all applications are received they will be reviewed and the ten (10) businesses will be selected based on certain criteria to include the number of employees that would be tested in a year and also the businesses’ FMCSA Safety Rating. A nationwide criminal history background check will also be required on all instructors and third party testers. Felony convictions or any conviction of fraud will disqualify the applicant. The business will also be required to submit a certificate of bond sufficient to pay for re-testing drivers in the event of fraudulent activities by a third party tester.
If you are interested in participating in the Pilot Program, please visit the Department of Public Safety Webpage for additional details and the application form: https://ok.gov/dps/CDL_Third_Party_Examiners.html
Posted on Thu, September 8, 2016
by Rebecca Chappell filed under