RSS LinkedIn Facebook Twitter

Oklahoma Trucking Association Announces Safety Winners

Press Release
Contact: Rebecca Chappell – (405) 525-9488 ext. 1 or


Oklahoma Trucking Association Announces Safety Winners

The Oklahoma Trucking Association (OTA) announced their winners for the 2016 Safety Awards last week in Oklahoma City.

The 2016 Grand Trophy, presented by Great West Casualty Company, was awarded to BKEP Crude LLC (Blue Knight Energy Partners) of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. BKEP owns and operates a diversified portfolio of complementary midstream energy assets consisting of approximately 7.7 million barrels of crude oil storage located in Oklahoma and Texas, approximately 6.6 million barrels of which are located at the Cushing Oklahoma Interchange, approximately 900 miles of crude oil pipeline located primarily in Oklahoma and Texas, approximately 250 crude oil transportation and oilfield services vehicles deployed in Kansas, Colorado, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas and approximately 7.3 million barrels of combined asphalt product and residual fuel oil storage located at 43 terminals in 22 states. BKEP provides integrated services for companies engaged in the production, distribution and marketing of crude oil, asphalt and other petroleum products. BKEP is headquartered in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

Oklahoma driver, Danny Byars, from United Petroleum Transports (UPT), was selected as the 2016 Oklahoma Driver of the Year. Throughout Byars’ 38 years as a professional driver, he has accumulated over 3.5 million accident-free miles. He and his wife, Pauline, live in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. Byars volunteers his time and donates money to many organizations around the city including Positive Tomorrows, Habitat for Humanity, and Rebuilding Together.

OTA member companies are eligible to apply for the Fleet Safety Awards and the placement is chosen by the lowest accident frequency rating in Oklahoma. If the company places in their division category, they then become eligible for the Grand Trophy award. This award is chosen by three judges from various law enforcement agencies and is based on the company’s overall safety performance record, their safety plan, hiring practices and outside council involvement. OTA member companies can also submit a nomination packet for a driver that they believe has gone above and beyond the call of duty for consideration as an Oklahoma Professional Driver.


Please see the complete list of winners below:

One Million Mile Drivers
ABF Freight
David (Kent) Jones

FTC Transportation, Inc.
Leonard Westover

Glass TI LLC (Glass Operating Group)
Jerry Bolia

Groendyke Transport, Inc.
Clifford Leroy Reece

John Christner Trucking LLC
Robert Davis
Miller Johnson Jr

Melton Truck Lines
Mark Albrecht
Michael Allison
Shawn Davis
Elry Haywood
Carl Miller III
Stephen Phillips
Brian Suddarth
Gerald Worth

Miller Truck Lines
David Brown
Dennis Crabtree
Terry Dickert

United PetroleumTransports
John Sloan

Darryl Deragon
Mike McCoy

Walmart Transportation
Frankie Duncan
Roger Keys
William Mathes
Michael Musteen
Robert Pettigrew
Daniel Smith
Ronald Starchman

Two Million Mile Drivers
Freymiller, Inc.
Duane Mills

Glass TI LLC (Glass Operating Group)
Johnny F Hawkins

Groendyke Transport, Inc.
Sam Stubblefield

Melton Truck Lines
Albert Adams
Lloyd Cruz
Doyle Hester Jr.

Miller Truck Lines
Thomas Bowen

Walmart Transportation
Sterling Jackson
Floyd Olson
Brian Sanday
Douglas Taylor

Three Million Mile Drivers
United Petroleum Transports
Carl Andrew
Richard Rodriguez

Walmart Transportation
Donald Perkins
LaVern Reimer

Fleet Safety Winners
Irregular Under 1 Million Miles
2nd Place – The Waggoners Trucking
1st Place – FTC Transportation, Inc.

Irregular 1-5 Million Miles
1st Place- Melton Truck Lines

Irregular Over 5 Million Miles
3rd Place – Miller Truck Lines, LLC
2nd Place- ABF Freight System, Inc.
1st Place – Freymiller, Inc.

Regular 1-5 Million Miles
1st Place – AAA Cooper Transportation

Regular Over 5 Million Miles
3rd Place – FedEx Freight, Inc.
2nd Place – UPS
1st Place – Walmart Transportation

Petroleum Under 1 Million Miles
1st Place – Miller Truck Lines, LLC

Petroleum 1-5 Million Miles
1st Place – BKEP Crude LLC

Petroleum Over 5 Million Miles
2nd Place – United Petroleum Transports
1st Place – Coffeyville Resources Crude Transportation

Miscellaneous 1-5 Million Miles
2nd Place- Pioneer Transport
1st Place – LuGreg Trucking, LLC

Miscellaneous Over 5 Million Miles 
1st Place – Groendyke Transport, Inc.

2016 Grand Trophy
BKEP Crude LLC (Blue Knight Energy Partners)

Professional Drivers
Carl Andrew - United Petroleum Transports
Walter Behringer - John Christner Trucking
Daniel Byars - United Petroleum Transports
Terry (TJ) Conaway - John Christner Trucking
Luther Harris - United Petroleum Transports
Kenneth James - John Christner Trucking
John Keel - United Petroleum Transports
Gerald McCash - Walmart Transportation
Floyd Olson - Walmart Transportation
Di Anna Ramsey - John Christner Trucking
James David Tull - John Christner Trucking
David Washman - John Christner Trucking

2016 Oklahoma Driver of the Year
Danny Byars – United Petroleum Transports

comments powered by Disqus

Our Partners & Affiliates