RSS LinkedIn Facebook Twitter

Oklahoma Trucking Association Announces Safety Winners

Press Release

Contact: Rebecca Chappell

(405) 525-9488 ext. 1 or


Oklahoma Trucking Association Announces Safety Winners

The Oklahoma Trucking Association (OTA) and Oklahoma Safety Management Council (OSMC) announced their winners for the 2012 Fleet Safety Awards last week in Oklahoma City.

The 2012 Grand Trophy, presented by Great West Casualty Company, was awarded to Coffeyville Resources Crude Transportation of Bartlesville, Oklahoma.  Coffeyville Resources Crude Transportation is a CVR Refining, LP Company. Coffeyville Resources has been in business since 2004 and transport crude oil.

Domiciled in Oklahoma, driver, Michael A. Giannetta, from John Christner Trucking, LLC., was selected as the 2012 Oklahoma Driver of the Year. Throughout Gianetta’s 18 years as a professional driver, he has accumulated over 1.9 million accident-free miles. He and his wife, Paula Gene, are very active in their community; they sponsor youth for rodeo events, have helped an FFA student travel to National Convention, do pit bull & equestrian rescue, & is building a small trucking company to create jobs in their community.

OTA member companies are eligible to apply for the Fleet Safety Awards and the placement is chosen by the lowest accident frequency rating in Oklahoma. If the company places in their division category, they then become eligible for the Grand Trophy award. This award is chosen by three judges from various law enforcement agencies and is based on the company’s overall safety performance record, their safety plan, hiring practices and outside council involvement. OTA member companies can also submit a nomination packet for a driver that they believe has gone above and beyond the call of duty for consideration as an Oklahoma Professional Driver.

A complete list of winners can be found at:


comments powered by Disqus

Our Partners & Affiliates