RSS LinkedIn Facebook Twitter

Oklahoma Election Results

I wanted to share with you an update on the Oklahoma elections.

The general election is in the rear view mirror.  The Oklahoma Legislature will welcome 44 new members when it convenes February 6th for 2017 legislative session.  

Senate Republicans increased their majority by three seats to 42-6.  House Republicans increased their majority by four seats to 75-26.There are 32 new members in the 101-person House. There are 13 new lawmakers in the 48-person Senate.

New representatives are:
Rick West (HD 1), Matt Meredith (HD 4), Josh West (HD 5), Tom Gann (HD 8), Kevin McDugle (HD 12), Avery Fix (HD 13), Scott Fetgatter (HD 16), Justin J.J. Humphrey (HD 19), Dell Kerbs (HD 26), Kyle Hilbert (HD 29), Mark Lawson (HD 30), Greg Babinec (HD 33), Ryan Martinez (HD 39), Tim Downing (HD 42), Marcus McEntire (HD 50), Kevin West (HD 54), Carl Newton (HD 58), Rhonda Baker (HD 60), Rande Worthen (HD 64), Scott McEachin (HD 67), Carol Bush (HD 70), Monroe Nichols (HD 73), Dale Derby (HD 74), Meloyde Blancett (HD 78), Mike Osburn (HD 81), Tammy West (HD 84), Collin Walke (HD 87), Forrest Bennett (HD 92), Mickey Dollens (HD 93), Roger Ford (HD 95), Jason Lowe (HD 97) and Tess Teague (HD 101).

New senators are:
Michael Bergstrom (SD 1), Dewayne Pemberton (SD 9), James Leewright (SD 12), Greg McCortney (SD 13), Roland Pederson (SD 19), Tom Dugger (SD 21), Lonnie Paxton (SD 23), Joe Newhouse (SD 25), Julie Daniels (SD 29), Chris Kidd (SD 31), Dave Rader (SD 39), Adam Pugh (SD 41) and Paul Scott (SD 43).  

House Speaker-elect Charles McCall was elected by the caucus in May as House Speaker-designate. Tuesday’s Republican caucus also elected several top leadership positions.

In addition to electing McCall, the caucus chose state Rep. Harold Wright as Speaker Pro Tempore-elect.

State Rep. David Brumbaugh was chosen as Caucus Chairman for a second term.Other elected leadership positions include:

  • Vice Caucus Chairwoman, state Rep. Elise Hall, R-Bethany, who ran unopposed and was elected for a second term. 
  • Caucus Secretary, state Rep. Katie Henke, R-Tulsa, who ran unopposed and was elected for a second term. 

Senate Republicans named Mike Schulz President Pro Tempore-designate in April. Schulz announced two appointments to key leadership positions in the Senate. He has named Sen. Greg Treat, R-Oklahoma City, as Floor Leader and Sen. Kim David, R-Porter, as chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee. Senate Republicans also voted to fill leadership positions: 

  •       Sen. Gary Stanislawski, R-Tulsa, was elected Chair of the Republican Caucus.
  •       Sen. Roger Thompson, R-Okemah, was elected Vice-Chair of the Republican Caucus
  •       Sen. Eddie Fields, R-Wynona, was elected Assistant Majority Floor Leader
  •       Sen. Bryce Marlatt, R-Woodward, was elected Assistant Majority Floor Leader
  •       Sen. Stephanie Bice, R-Oklahoma City, was elected Assistant Majority Floor Leader
  •       Sen. Mark Allen, R-Spiro, was elected Majority Whip
  •       Sen. Nathan Dahm, R-Broken Arrow, was elected Majority Whip
  •       Sen. Frank Simpson, R-Springer, was elected Majority Whip
  •       Sen. Rob Standridge, R-Norman, was elected Majority Whip

During the next several weeks Speaker-elect McCall and Senate Pro Tempore Schulz will announce additional appointed leadership positions, as well as committee structure, committee chairs and committee appointments.  

The House and Senate will officially organize in January 3, 2017 at which time the Speaker elect and Senate Pro Tempore will be officially elected, and rules for the 2017 session will be passed.

The first day of session will begin Monday February 6, 2017.

comments powered by Disqus

Our Partners & Affiliates