RSS LinkedIn Facebook Twitter

Con-way Freight’s Carl Krites is 2010 National Truck Driving Grand Champion

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Carl Krites, a Con-way Freight professional truck driver based in Wapakoneta, Ohio was named the 2010 National Truck Driving Grand Champion. Carl’s driving skills and knowledge of transportation and truck safety information topped those of 415 other professional drivers from all across the United States in the National Truck Driving Championships, held in Columbus, Ohio. The 73rd annual “Super Bowl of Safety” is sponsored by the American Trucking Associations.

In route to his title, Carl has logged 31 years as a driver, with over 3 million miles behind the wheel. Carl began competing in his state truck driving championships in 2002, and this is his first trip to the National Truck Driving Championships.

The contestants were the state champions in nine truck types from all 50 states. Collectively, they have driven 581,001,783 accident-free miles.

In their respective classes, drivers tested their expertise in the driving skills they use daily. The competition course inside the Greater Columbus Convention Center challenged their knowledge of safety, equipment and the industry. The skills course tested drivers’ ability to judge distances, maneuver tight spaces, reverse, park, and position their vehicle exactly over scales, before barriers or around curves.

“The National Truck Driving Championships showcase the industry’s commitment to safety,” said ATA President & CEO Bill Graves. “I applaud all the competitors for their efforts in making our highways safe, and congratulate Carl for demonstratinghow a dedication to safe driving skills can make you a Grand Champion.”

Carl also won the individual tank truck driving competition. Joining Carl as champions in their respective classes:

Straight Truck: Scott Watts – FedEx Express (Anchorage, Alaska)

Three-Axle: Heladio Fernandez – FedEx Freight (Portland, Ore.)

Four-Axle: Jason Matte – FedEx Freight (Richland, Miss.)

Five-Axle: Steve Elliston – Wal-Mart Transportation (Sparta, Mich.)

Sleeper Berth Class: Bruce Quaal – YRC Freight (Farmington, Minn.)

Twins: Don Logan – FedEx Freight (Eskridge, Kan.)

Flatbed Class: John Smith, Jr. – FedEx Ground (Mooreville, Miss.)

Tank Truck Class: Carl Krites – Con-way Freight (Wapakoneta, Ohio)

Step Van: Sean Saxon – FedEx Ground (Mesa, Ariz.)

Carl Krites succeeds Dale Duncan, a professional truck driver with Con-way Freight,as the National Grand Champion.

Joseph Hicks, a driver for Con-way Freight from Johnston, Rhode Island, was named 2010 Rookie of the Year after competing in the Three-Axle division.

The Oregon state truck driving championship team won honors as the highest scoring state team.

ATA’s Truck Driving Championships include top professional truck drivers from around the nation competing at state and regional levels to make it to the national competition Aug. 3-7 in Columbus, Ohio. The NTDC annually attracts over 2,000 cheering friends, family, colleagues and spectators. For more information, visit the 2010 National Truck Driving Championships website:

The American Trucking Associations is the largest national trade association for the trucking industry. Through a federation of other trucking groups, industry-related conferences, and its 50 affiliated state trucking associations, ATA represents more than 37,000 members covering every type of motor carrier in the United States.

The American Trucking Associations, including Ohio Trucking Association, leads the effort for safer highways, focusing on greater education, enforcement and enhancement of traffic safety laws for all drivers.

2010 National Truck Driving Championship Winners:

Grand Champion: Carl Krites – Con-way Freight (Wapakoneta, Ohio)

National Rookie of the Year: Joseph Hicks – Con-way Freight (Johnston, R.I.)

State Team Trophy: Oregon

Vehicle Condition Award: Will Chrvala – New Penn Motor Express (Whitehall, Pa.)

Neill Darmstadter Professional Excellence Award: Dennis Day – Con-way Freight (Lawrenceville, Ga.)

Life-Time Volunteer Award: Dave Knobloch (La Crosse, Wis.)

National Champions:

Straight Truck Class

First Place: Scott Watts – FedEx Express (Anchorage, Alaska)

Second Place: Jay Miller – FedEx Freight (Bonner Springs, Kan.)

Third Place: Daniel Norgaard– Norgaard Trucking (Arlington, S.D.)

3-Axle Class

First Place: Heladio Fernandez – FedEx Freight (Portland, Ore.)

Second Place: Ken Jensen, Jr. – Con-way Freight (Pasco, Wash.)

Third Place: Brian Singelais, Sr. – A. Duie Pyle, Inc. (Webster, Mass.)

4-Axle Class

First Place: Jason Matte – FedEx Freight (Richland, Miss.)

Second Place: Will Chrvala – New Penn Motor Express, Inc. (Whitehall, Pa.)

Third Place: Richard Seigle – YRC (Orland Park, Ill.)

5-Axle Class

First Place: Steve Elliston – Wal-Mart Transportation (Sparta, Mich.)

Second Place: Ray Jackson – H-E-B Grocery (San Antonio, Texas)

Third Place: Steve Limas – ABF Freight System (Belen, N.M.)

Flatbed Class

First Place: John Smith, Jr. – FedEx Ground (Mooreville, Miss.)

Second Place: Ray Barlow – Wal-Mart Transportation (Niles, Mich.)

Third Place: Scott Woodrome – FedEx National LTL (Middletown, Ohio)

Tank Truck Class

First Place: Carl Krites – Con-way Freight (Wapakoneta, Ohio)

Second Place: Leo Flack – A. Duie Pyle, Inc. (West Chester, Pa.)

Third Place: Dale Duncan – Con-way Freight (Spring Valley, Calif.)

Twins Class

First Place: Don Logan – FedEx Freight (Eskridge, Kan.)

Second Place: Chris Outen – FedEx Freight (Vancouver, Wash.)

Third Place: David Mogler – FedEx Freight (Brighton, Colo.)

Sleeper Berth Class

First Place: Bruce Quaal – YRC Freight (Farmington, Minn.)

Second Place: Clarence Jenkins, Jr. – UPS Freight (Poca, W.Va.)

Third Place: Tom Pietrzak, Jr. – Werner Enterprises, Inc. (Lansdale, Pa.)

Step Van

First Place: Sean Saxon – FedEx Ground (Mesa, Ariz.)

Second Place: Aryn Pittaway – FedEx Express (Arlington, Texas)

Third Place: Jody Arnall – FedEx Freight (Hartville, Mo.)


comments powered by Disqus

Our Partners & Affiliates